header logo
RRMS Honors Patriot's Pen Award Winners
ROCKY RIVER, Ohio - In October, eighth graders at Rocky River Middle School American History classes participated in a national essay contest titled "The Patriot's Pen", which is sponsored by the VFW.
A total of 17 essays written by RRMS students were selected for district competition and were reviewed by Pat Straley of the North Olmsted VFW brand who served as the local sponsor, as well as other volunteers. These essays were reviewed for possible submission to the regional competition and although none of them were selected, three students - Morgan Way, Leonardo Bonacci and Seth Purohit - earned special recognition for their work as the top three finishers.
The other students who were selected for the District competition were Evan Lei, Sabrina Bucaro, Parker Hartup, Olivia Fietklewicz, Samantha Robertson, Seth Eaton, Samantha Manoloff, Yasmin Mayich, Martha Kolpein, Abigail Mallett, William Beach, Tyler Fortune, Genevieve Konrad and Emma Convery.
Congratulations to all 17 students for achieving this recognition and to Pat Straley and the North Olmsted VFW for sponsoring the project this year.