Print    Close This Window
RRMS Recognizes Patriot’s Pen Award Winners
January 26, 2023

ROCKY RIVER, Ohio – In October, eighth graders in American History classes at Rocky River Middle School (RRMS) participated in The Patriot's Pen, a national essay contest sponsored by the VFW.


This year’s theme was My Pledge to Our Veterans.


A total of 23 RRMS students were recognized by the VFW for their participation in the competition, including Alex Bogre, Isadora Manellari and Elizabeth Smalley who received additional awards as the top three essays submitted.


In addition, the following RRMS students were also recognized by the VFW for their participation in the competition:


Drew Alexander, Jensen Boetger, Cora Bruce, Cece Davis, Olivia Dewey, Sarah Douglas, Charlie Fitz, Shannon Heavey, Aiden Hill, Abbie Lamb, Asia Morron, Brandon Nazette, Mateo Roselli, Maeve Sheridan, Ava Stape, Piper Tovissi, Claudia Valente,Josephine Wall, Annie WissmanElizabeth Yandek


Congratulations to all 23 students for achieving this recognition and for their achievements. Special thanks to Pat Straley and the North Olmsted Branch of the VFW for once again sponsoring our students in this national writing competition.