Print    Close This Window
Eight RRHS Students Named National Merit Finalists
February 21, 2023

ROCKY RIVER, Ohio – Eight Rocky River High School seniors - Sabrina Bucaro, Gregory Ganor, Ethan Hazra, Henry Kozlowski, Evan Lei, Alison Ryland, Hugo Stickney and Morgan Way - have been named National Merit Finalists in the 68th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program. 


All eight of these students were named semifinalists in September and have met all of the requirements to advance to finalist status in the competition for National Merit Scholarships. They were selected on the basis of their superior academic record, test scores, activities, leadership, written essays and letters of recommendation.


The National Merit Scholar program annually recognizes U.S. high school students who demonstrate definitive marks of academic excellence. Approximately 1.5 million high school students enter the program each year and 15,000 are named finalists. These finalists represent less than 1-percent of the nation’s high school seniors and will now compete for nearly 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million.


More information about the National Merit Scholarship Program, which was established in 1955, is available online.