Print    Close This Window
Five RRHS Seniors Named National Merit Finalists
February 11, 2021

ROCKY RIVER, Ohio – Rocky River High School (RRHS) seniors Evelyn Amsdell, Thomas Capka, William Dunn, Leanne Wattar and Marin Way have been named Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The five seniors, who were named National Merit Semifinalists in September, were selected as Finalists on the basis of their superior academic record, test scores, activities, leadership, written essays, and letters of recommendation.

They are five of the approximately 15,000 Finalists in the program.

“We are extremely proud of our five seniors who have advanced as National Merit Finalists,” RRHS principal Rob Winton said. “They have been selected for this exceptional honor based on their outstanding achievements in the classroom and beyond and we wish them well as they move forward in this prestigious academic competition.”

Amsdell, Capka, Dunn, Wattar and Way will now compete for National Merit Scholarships that will be announced this spring. 

Beginning in March and continuing until mid-June, approximately 7,500 Finalists will be notified by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation that they have been selected as National Merit Scholars.

The National Merit Scholarship program was established in 1955 and each year participants receive scholarships worth more than $33 million for college undergraduate study.