State Assessments
Students will take state assessments, written by the American Institutes for Research (AIR) in the following grades and subjects:
     Grade 3: Reading and Math
     Grade 4: Reading, Math and Social Studies
     Grade 5: Reading, Math and Science
     Grade 6: Reading, Math and Social Studies
     Grade 7: Reading and Math
     Grade 8: Reading, Math and Science
     Grades 9-12:   English 9 and English 10
                              Algebra I and Geometry
                              U.S. History and U.S. Government
The assessments are designed to  assess each student's mastery of the learning standards. They differ from the OAA and OGT in a number of ways, including
  • They not only measure a student's content knowledge, they also assess the important skills of critical thinking,  problem solving, and analyzing and using information and evidence gathered from reading materials in well-developed writing.
  • They take advantage of technology to include questions and other tasks that correspond to the type of work that students will encounter in their classrooms on a regular basis and after high school.  Students will analyze information and explain answers using computer based tools and multi-step strategies.
Each of Ohio's assessments listed above will be taken on a computer.  They require students to solve multi-step problems that require reasoning and address real-world situations.  Students must demonstrate an understanding of concepts and procedures as well as carry out short applications.  Some questions will be scored by a computer, and some will be scored by a trained professional.  
A student will receive a summative score of 1-5 for each subject test taken:
Ohio's Learning Standards
In June 2010, the State of Ohio adopted Ohio's Learning Standards (OLS) in English language arts, mathematics, science and social studies.  These more rigorous standards are aligned to college and career readiness expectations for our students' future.
Ohio's Learning Standards consist of:
     -Common Core Standards for English language arts and math.
     -Ohio Department of Education's new standards for science and social studies. 
From the summer of 2010 until the 14-15 school year, the Rocky River City School District transitioned to Ohio's Learning Standards and prepared for the Next Generation Assessments.  
     -from "mile-wide, inch-deep" to "inch-wide, mile-deep"
     -deeper study of fewer topics
     -memorization/recall replaced with evidence and application 
     -literacy integrated across the curriculum 
  • Across the district, teachers focused on bringing literacy into their classrooms.  
  • We infused technology into our classrooms with the introduction of google apps, chromebooks, iPads, and a BYOD initiative (at RRHS). 
  • We focus on our students providing evidence of what they know, and not simply recalling a memorized list of what they know.
  • We provide students with real-world applications of what they are learning.
While the Ohio Legislature and Department of Education slated full implementation of OLS to take place for the 2014-2015 school year, the RRCSD transitioned its curriculum and instruction from 2010 to 2014.  In our school district, you did not recognize a drastic change in 14-15 because we chose to transition over several years rather than wait to "change it all" in 14-15.